ADMISSIONS INFORMATION

MISSISSIPPI STATE HOSPITAL
WHITFIELD CAMPUS

A program of the Mississippi Department of Mental Health.

 
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Psychiatric Commitment:
Order of Commitment, Affidavit for Commitment, Physician's Certificate, Mental Health Four page Screening and Patient Information Form.

Acute Receiving Service:
Acute Receiving Services provide diagnostic evaluation and short-term behavioral health treatment for individuals at least 18 years of age or married with acute mental illness

Admissions may be either voluntary or involuntary. Court-ordered involuntary commitments take precedence over voluntary admissions.

Persons with unresolved felony charges pending may not be admitted to adult psychiatric receiving services.

Voluntary admission will be available for any adult who voluntarily requests admission to MSH for psychiatric evaluation and treatment. Application for voluntary admission may be made by the person seeking admission if he or she is 18 years of age or older or married, any immediate relative, the attorney for the person seeking admission with the applicant's written consent, or the guardian of a person 18 years of age and older if the guardian has received authority from the court.

Order of Commitment, Affidavit for Commitment, Physician's Certificate, Mental Health Four page Screening and Patient Information Form.

Substance Use Service:
The Substance Use Service provides treatment for females 18 years of age and older in need of treatment for alcohol or drug dependency.

Admissions to the Substance Use Service may be either voluntary or involuntary. Court-ordered involuntary commitments take precedence over voluntary admissions.

Emergency orders of involuntary commitment for alcohol or drug dependency will be available to those adults in need of emergency treatment. This order allows the patient to be confined for treatment involuntarily for a maximum of five days before discharge. After a period of five days, the Chancery Court will hold a hearing to determine if the patient is in need of continued treatment for chemical dependency on an involuntary basis.

Voluntary admission will be available for any adult who voluntarily requests admission to MSH for substance use evaluation and treatment. Application for voluntary admission may be made by the person seeking admission if he or she is 18 years of age or older, any immediate relative, the attorney for the person seeking admission with the applicant's written consent, or the guardian of a person 18 years of age or older if the guardian has received authority from the Chancery Court.

For voluntary commitments, required documents are Completed Voluntary Admission form, Consent to Treat and Medication Consent form and Patient Information Form.

For involuntary commitments, required documents are Order of Commitment signed by judge and Patient Information Form.

For emergency involuntary commitments, required documents are Preliminary Order of Commitment, Affidavit for Commitment, Physician's Certificate (signed by two physicians) and Patient Information Form.

Oak Circle Center Psychiatric and Behavioral Health Admissions (OCC):
Oak Circle Center provides acute psychiatric and behavioral health services for individuals between the ages of 4 years and 17 years 11 months.

Admissions to OCC may be either voluntary or involuntary. Court-ordered involuntary commitments take precedence over voluntary admissions.

As specified by Mississippi statute, a mentally ill person who is between the ages of 14 years and 17 years, 11 months may not be admitted voluntarily to a psychiatric treatment facility. The Chancery Court, the Youth Court, or the Family Court may involuntarily commit a child/adolescent to OCC for diagnosis and treatment. The general procedures and requirements for such commitment by any of these courts are the same as for adults committed through the Chancery Court.

A mentally ill person who is under the age of 14 years may be admitted to a psychiatric treatment facility voluntarily or involuntarily. Involuntary admissions for children under 14 years of age follow the same guidelines and requirements for involuntary admissions of children between the ages of 14 and 18.

Psychiatric Commitment Documents, Immunization Records, Birth Certificate and Proof of Custody (if not legal guardian)

Oak Circle Center Substance Use Admissions:
Oak Circle Center provides substance use treatment to adolescents 12 years old and under the age of 17.

Only involuntary commitments for adolescent substance use treatment are accepted.

The following documents are required: copy of petition or affidavit; certified copy of the court order committing the minor to receive treatment for substance abuse; a completed patient information sheet.

If it is an emergency commitment it must be stated in the order and include a physician's certificate with an explanation why it is emergent and signed by two physicians or one physician and a nurse practitioner, psychologist or physician assistant to the above.


  WHAT TO BRING:
• 5 complete changes of clothing
• glasses and/or hearing aids
• family photos and mementos
• spending money to deposit into a patient account

DO NOT BRING:
• expensive jewelry
• weapons or sharp objects (e.g. pocket knife)
• breakable glass items
• no personal-care products containing alcohol

TRANSPORTATION
A person is committed to MSH for psychiatric care because mental health professionals and the Chancery Court believe that person, due to mental illness, is a danger to self or others. For the patient's safety, the county Sheriff's Department provides transportation to the hospital. People committed to the Substance Use Service are transported by their families, unless they seek assistance from the Chancery Court for transportation by the Sheriff's Department.

NON-DISCRIMINATION NOTICE
Mississippi State Hospital does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability or age in admission, treatment or participation in its programs, services and activities or in employment.
 


CONTACT INFORMATION
Mississippi State Hospital
Admissions Department
P.O. Box 157-A
Whitfield, MS 39193
601-351-8003
info@msh.state.ms.us

Eligibility Information Regarding
Medicaid, Medicare and Private Insurance
601-351-8234

Emergency Help:
Mississippi Department of Mental Health
Toll-free Help Line
877-210-8513
All Calls Are Confidential